About

expertise

Who is CROP

A consulting firm in market intelligence, marketing research, opinion polls and trend analysis founded in 1965.

Life to ideas  is our value proposition. We identify the needs, expectations and attitudes of your customers, target audiences and audiences (Life) to make them aware of the relevance of your propositions, offers and innovations (your Ideas).

An exceptional partner to help you convert your stakeholders, armed with a thorough understanding of what motivates them.

expertise

Our mission

To support you in converting your prospects and target audiences. To optimize the loyalty of your audiences and stakeholders and help you meet your goals.

To identify all the needs, expectations and attitudes of consumers and citizens necessary to help you (legitimately) convert them.

To offer you a unique perspective on the motivations underlying people’s actions, that explain their choices and attitudes.

To help companies, institutions and organizations fully meet the needs of their stakeholders by identifying all their aspirations, even the seemingly insignificant ones.

We have been helping clients optimally connect with their audiences since 1965.

Life to ideas — from individuals’ needs and attitudes to your boldest aspirations.

History

1965

CROP’s founding — Quebec was in the midst of the Quiet Revolution. CROP was the only Quebec-based polling firm at the time to bear witness to the profound changes occurring in the Belle Province. Sociologist Yvan Corbeil established the Centre de Recherche sur l’Opinion Publique (Centre for Research on Public Opinion), henceforth known by its acronym, CROP.

1967

One of the first public opinion polls to appear in the Quebec press was published by the leading English-language newspaper, The Montreal Star. The poll had been conducted by CROP: 72% of French-speaking Quebecers (whose spoken language was French) did not believe that General de Gaulle was advocating for Quebec independence when he shouted “Vive le Québec libre” from the balcony of Montreal City Hall on July 24., 1967.

1968

CROP began doing surveys across Canada. CROP became a pan-Canadian research firm offering a portfolio of market- and societal intelligence services.

1969

CROP conducted the first sociocultural market survey on why housewives were having trouble accepting ready-to-eat foods. They felt that these products devalued their role as wives and mothers!

1976

CROP launched the CROP Bulletin, the first quarterly omnibus publication on public opinion and consumer attitudes in the country. The trends and phenomena that CROP still monitors today began to be measured by this program.

1983

CROP launched the 3SC, CROP’s Sociocultural Change Survey System, whose exclusive Canadian license had been obtained a few years earlier from the French company, Cofremca. This research and consultation program tracked the changes in the psychology and core values of people in their role as consumers and citizens. The 3SC became today’s Panorama program.

2001

CROP added to its arsenal a series of experimental protocols (such as ethnography) to establish ever more intimate interactions with participants. CROP subsequently perfected these methods for online use (“nethnography”).

2011

CROP launched JAM, a research protocol that lets survey participants express themselves freely on any topic (through open-ended questions), while also commenting on the responses of other survey participants. At the end of the process, the results from all the ideas expressed and the most popular ideas are quantified. The ideal integration of qualitative and quantitative protocols.

2018

CROP invested in artificial intelligence (AI) and quickly gained expertise in querying large databases. By incorporating the values from its Panorama program, CROP was able to explain to clients how their databases could be exploited for marketing purposes.

2020

CROP launched the Milieus program after concluding an agreement with Vividata, the leader in Canadian cross-media and consumer research. Milieus is the result of the integration of CROP's database of Canadian consumer trends and hot buttons with Vividata's database on the consumption of products, services, brands and media in the Canadian marketplace. Milieus offers an in-depth investigation of Canadian consumer lifestyles and values.

Management Team

Alain Giguère

Alain Giguère joined CROP as a project manager in 1981 and has been the company’s president since 1987. Alain is the indisputable public face of the firm. Trained in sociology, statistics and demography, he was initially responsible for directing the company’s cutting-edge methodologies. He acquired his expertise in marketing and communications at numerous training courses with CROP’s partners in Europe and the United States, and particularly through the firm’s participation in the RISC (Research on International Social Change) network.

As president, he has dedicated himself to CROP’s vision of growth and innovation. He is the architect of the Panorama program (originally called the 3SC when launched in 1983), the largest study ever conducted in Canada on consumer and citizen values.

Alain is recognized as an authority on the social psychology of consumers and citizens and its impact on organizations and brands.

He is as passionate about research as he is about life in general.

Dominic Bourdages

Dominic Bourdages has long been fascinated by consumer psychology and how it can be leveraged to improve corporate communications and marketing strategies, which makes him a perfect fit with CROP’s research team.

His nearly 25 years of professional experience includes expertise in developing personalized communications campaigns, database mining, optimizing sponsorship ROI and retail promotions. He has worked primarily with companies and organizations from the food industry, telecommunications, finance and transportation.

Dominic’s in-depth understanding of business modeling and the corporate world, in general, is especially valued by clients.

Stéphane Gendron

Stéphane Gendron, vice president at CROP since 2005, has a background in political economy with a specialization in quantitative studies. In his more than 35 years of marketing-research experience, he has worked on both customer and supplier studies, developing an expertise in translating research results into recommendations for concrete actions for client companies and organizations.

In his role as vice president, Stéphane plans and executes research and consulting mandates, particularly those that measure the customer experience. He is responsible for the creation of CROP’s Fidelus program, which measures the satisfaction of client customers. He uses qualitative and quantitative research protocols to establish a complete diagnosis of the customer experience and to recommend the ways of improving service.

Stéphane is a recognized expert in the measurement of the customer experience and has lectured on the trends and best practices in this area. For several years, he has been conducting an in-depth study for the Quebec Marketing Association on the satisfaction of Quebec consumers, which ranks Quebec companies in terms of their customer experience.

Over the course of his career, Stéphane has also executed mandates for other types of marketing research, including market assessments, new product assessments, and advertising strategies for telcos, insurers, finance companies and retailers.

À propos

expertise

Qui sommes-nous ?

Un cabinet-conseil en intelligence de marché, recherche marketing, sondages d’opinion et analyse des tendances depuis 1965.

De la vie aux idées est notre proposition de valeurs. Nous mettons en lumière les besoins, attentes et attitudes de vos clientèles, publics cibles et audiences (la vie), afin de les sensibiliser à la pertinence de vos propositions, offres et innovations (vos idées).

Le partenaire unique dans la conversion de vos parties prenantes, et ce, par une parfaite compréhension de ce qui les motive.

expertise

Notre mission

Vous accompagner dans la conversion de vos clientèles et publics cibles. Optimiser l’adhésion de vos audiences et parties prenantes à vos objectifs.

Produire la parfaite compréhension des besoins, attentes et attitudes des gens, consommateurs comme citoyens, nécessaire aux conversions (« légitimes ») visées par nos clients.

Bâtir, pour vous, une perspective unique sur les motivations qui font agir les gens, qui expliquent leurs choix et leurs attitudes.

Aider les entreprises, institutions et organisations à pleinement répondre aux besoins de leurs parties prenantes en leur révélant les moindres aspirations de ces dernières : un engagement auquel CROP se dévoue depuis 1965.

Nous vous aidons à connecter de façon optimale avec vos audiences.

De la vie aux idées — des besoins et attitudes des gens à vos aspirations les plus audacieuses.

Histoire

1965

Fondation de CROP — le Québec est en pleine Révolution tranquille. Il n'y avait pas de maison de sondages spécifiquement québécoise à l'époque pour témoigner de ces changements profonds que vivait la Belle Province. Yvan Corbeil, sociologue, fonde CROP, le Centre de Recherche sur l’Opinion Publique.

1967

Un des premiers sondages d’opinion publique à être publié dans les journaux au Québec fut publié par The Montreal Star (un journal anglo-montréalais de l’époque). Il fut réalisé par CROP : 72 % des Québécois de langue française (langue d’usage) ne croyaient pas que le Général de Gaulle plaidait pour l’indépendance du Québec lorsqu’il avait proclamé “Vive le Québec libre” du balcon de l'hôtel de ville de Montréal le 24 juillet.

1968

CROP commence à effectuer des études dans l’ensemble du Canada. CROP devient une firme de recherche pancanadienne offrant tous les services en intelligence de marché et de société.

1969

CROP réalise une première étude de marché à caractère socioculturel sur la difficulté des femmes au foyer d’accepter des solutions de prêts-à-manger. Elles avaient l'impression que cela dévalorisait leur rôle d’épouse et de mère!

1976

CROP lance le Bulletin-CROP, le premier omnibus trimestriel sur suivi de l'opinion publique et de l'attitude des consommateurs au pays. Des tendances et des phénomènes que nous suivons encore aujourd'hui ont commencé à être mesurés à cette époque à travers ce programme.

1983

CROP lance le 3SC, le Système CROP de Suivi des Courants Socioculturels, dont nous avions obtenu une licence exclusive pour le Canada quelques années auparavant d’une entreprise française qui se nommait Cofremca. Ce programme de recherche et de consultation suit les changements dans la psychologie humaine et les valeurs fondamentales des gens comme consommateurs et citoyens. Le 3SC est devenu notre programme Panorama aujourd’hui

2001

CROP ajoute à son arsenal une suite de protocoles expérimentaux comme l'ethnographie pour parvenir à établir des interactions toujours plus intimes avec ses participants, méthodes que nous avons perfectionnées par la suite de façon à pouvoir réaliser ces projets en ligne (la « nethnographie »).

2011

CROP lance JAM un protocole de recherche qui permet à des participants à un sondage de s’exprimer librement sur un sujet (questions ouvertes) tout en commentant les réponses des autres participants au sondage. À la fin du processus, on quantifie les résultats de l’ensemble des idées exprimées et des plus populaires. La parfaite intégration des protocoles qualitatif et quantitatif

2018

CROP investit en intelligence artificielle et bâtit une expertise d’interrogation de grandes bases de données en y intégrant les valeurs de son programme Panorama afin d'expliquer les données enregistrées par ses clients

2020

CROP lance le programme Milieux, après avoir scellé une entente avec Vividata, l’entreprise canadienne de mesure de consommation des médias. Milieux est le résultat de l'intégration de la base de données sur les valeurs et cordes sensibles des consommateurs canadiens de CROP avec celle de Vividata sur la consommation des produits, services, marques et médias présents sur le marché canadien. Milieux permet une investigation en profondeur des styles de vie de consommation et de valeurs des consommateurs canadiens.

Notre politique de qualité

L'équipe de gestion et les employés CROP sont engagés à l'égard de la qualité et l'amélioration continue dans tous les secteurs de l'organisation.  
En travaillant en équipe sur le processus d'amélioration, nous sommes déterminés à assurer un niveau de qualité pour le bénéfice premier de nos clients.

CROP est une entreprise certifiée ISO 20252:2019. Consultez notre certificat d'enregistrement.

expertise

Équipe de direction

Alain Giguère

Embauché chez CROP comme directeur de projets en 1981 et devenu président de l’entreprise depuis 1987, Alain est indiscutablement le visage le plus public de la firme. Formé en sociologie, statistique et en démographie, il fut au départ chargé d’orienter les procédés méthodologiques de pointe de l'entreprise. Le marketing et la communication furent des expertises acquises lors de ses nombreux stages de formation chez des partenaires en Europe comme aux États-Unis, notamment par la participation de CROP au réseau RISC, Research on International Social Change.

Par la suite, son rôle de président l’amena à se dédier à la vision de développement et d’innovation de CROP. À ce titre, il est d’ailleurs l’architecte du programme Panorama (le 3SC lors de son lancement en 1983), la plus importante étude jamais menée au Canada sur les valeurs des consommateurs et des citoyens.

Alain est reconnu comme une autorité en ce qui concerne la psychologie sociale des consommateurs et des citoyens et ses impacts sur les organisations et sur les marques.

Il est un passionné de la recherche comme de la vie sous tous ses aspects.

Dominic Bourdages

Passionné du comportement des consommateurs, Dominic œuvre dans les domaines de la stratégie, de la recherche marketing et de la publicité depuis près de 25 ans. Il a développé au fil des ans des expertises spécifiques en communication personnalisée, exploitation des bases de données, optimisation du ROI en commandite et en promotion au détail, principalement dans les secteurs alimentaire, de télécommunications, des finances et du transport.

Dominic est particulièrement apprécié de ses clients pour sa compréhension en profondeur des enjeux et modèles d’affaires.

Stéphane Gendron

M. Stéphane Gendron est vice-président chez CROP depuis 2005 et compte plus de 35 années d’expérience en recherche marketing. Il a travaillé tant du côté client que fournisseur, ayant ainsi développé une expertise à traduire des résultats de recherche en recommandations d’actions tangibles pour les entreprises et les organisations clientes.

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions de vice-président chez CROP, monsieur Gendron planifie et réalise des mandats de recherche et de consultation, particulièrement dans le domaine de l’évaluation de l’expérience-client. À ce titre, il a développé le programme Fidelus de CROP, qui vise à évaluer la satisfaction des clientèles des entreprises : il utilise des protocoles de recherche qualitatifs et quantitatifs afin d’établir un diagnostic complet de l’expérience- client et de recommander des pistes d’amélioration de service.

Monsieur Gendron est un expert reconnu en évaluation de l’expérience-client : il a donné de nombreuses conférences sur les tendances et les meilleures pratiques dans ce domaine. Depuis quelques années, il réalise pour l’Association Marketing Québec une étude en profondeur sur la satisfaction des consommateurs québécois, qui mène à établir un palmarès des meilleures entreprises québécoises en matière d’expérience-client.

Au cours de sa carrière, monsieur Gendron a aussi réalisé des mandats qui touchent d’autres aspects de la recherche marketing, notamment l’évaluation des marchés, des nouveaux produits et des stratégies publicitaires pour des entreprises de télécommunication, d’assurances et de finance, ainsi que pour des entreprises spécialisées dans le commerce de détail.

Monsieur Gendron possède une formation en économie politique avec une spécialité en études quantitatives.